The 21 Stages of Meditation

You are here: Home / The 21 Stages of Meditation

Whether you are new to meditation or want to deepen your practice, join us for this in-depth meditation journey filled with teachings, practical tools, and deep meditations that will help you be the calm in the midst of this storm called 2020 and beyond.

The 21 Stages of Meditation Course takes guides you through the blocks, thoughts, and emotions your mind passes through on its way to self-realization. It is broken into three journeys – you can take one, two or all three:


Saturday & Sunday, November 7 & 8, 2020, 9am-5:30pm ET each day
Stages 1-7Upset, Boredom, Irritation, Frustration, Focus, Absorption and Crystallize the Self
Whether or not you’ve ever associated “negative” sensations like upset, boredom, irritation, and/or frustration with meditation, these are very real stages we must pass through and learn to conquer in order to achieve Focus (Dhyan) and Absorption (Pratyahar). Through teachings and real time practice, we will move through these emotional blocks to our Crystallized self.

Saturday & Sunday, November 21 & 22, 2020, 9am-5:30pm ET each day

Stages 8-14: Rasa, Delight, Politeness, Humility, Elevation, Graceful Enlightenment
Express and be Your Self Once we recognize the Self, how do we express that Self creatively, authentically and effectively through our actions? Through teachings and real time practice, we will explore how to further develop our sensitivity to and stabilization of our sense of Self while in relationship to others. We will give ourselves the conscious capacity to become a graceful, enlightened presence that creates, heals, and uplifts everything we touch.

Saturday & Sunday, December 5 & 6, 2020, 9am-5:30pm ET each day
Stages 15-21: Presence like a beacon, Radiance everywhere, Prayerful stillness, Preacher, Teacher, Sage, Infinite pulse
In this Third Journey, we explore the realms of the Transcendental Self, bringing a fulfillment and clarity that is deep and true, beyond the finite self and burdens of the ego. Through teachings and real time practice, we will tap into our natural state of wisdom, innocent “play,” and a presence that observes – yet participates in – all things with spontaneity and grace. The Motto of this journey: Less Ego, More Bliss! Merge with the Infinite Self, and experience the peace and power that it brings.


Harbhajan Kaur Khalsa is a Mentoring Lead Trainer for Kundalini Yoga & Meditation Levels 1 and 2 – as well as a Level 3 Lead Trainer for 21 Stages of Meditation.  She has a KRI-acknowledged specialty in Mantra and Naad Yoga, and has continued to learn, perform, and teach Gurbani kirtan for over 4 decades. Harbhajan Kaur enjoys sharing the priceless art and science of Kundalini Yoga & Meditation in all levels of Teacher Training; Gurbani Kirtan and “Finding Your Voice”; as well as most topics involving the power and potential creativity of the word.

Dr. Sham-Rang Singh Khalsa is a physician who has also practiced Kundalini yoga and meditation for over 40 years. Dr. Sham Rang merges Ayurveda (traditional Indian yogic healing), yoga and western medicine, utilizing meditation with a strong focus on helping people open to their own self-healing. Dr. Sham Rang is available for private consultations, workshops and speaking engagements.  His delightful wife, Arjan, a gifted intuitive and meditation teacher, often joins him as a guest teacher.

Siri Sevak Kaur Khalsa is a compassionate and gifted teacher and trainer of Kundalini Yoga. She has an intuitive eye for helping students with posture and breath. Her own immersion in mantra and music bring additional joy and beauty into the yoga classroom. She continues to pursue her lifelong interest in body alignment, the transformative power of meditation and mantra, and the importance of community.


Do I have to take the Journeys in order?
No. This course can be taken whenever you would like to join a journey of meditation and contemplation. You may take the journeys in any order and retake them as often as you wish. You can explore any of the stages on your own – as an individual practice – because the benefits of each meditation stand on their own. However, the power of practicing an entire course of 21 Stages comes from the greater immersion into the practice when done in a sequence, within a concentrated period, and in a community of practitioners.

What if I am a Kundalini teacher?
The 21 Stages of Meditation contributes to Level Three Certification within The Aquarian Teacher™ Training Program and qualifies for 24 credits of continuing education for RYTs with Yoga Alliance.

Is there a book required for this Course?
No, however, The 21 Stages of Meditation Book by Gurucharan Singh Khalsa, PhD is a beautiful book and contains the meditations covered during the course. It is not included in the course fee, and is not necessary to own for successful participation in the program. If you wish to purchase it, you can find it at the KRI on-line bookstore for $23.99:


Sign up and pay in full by November 1 and receive our Early Bird Special: Complete Course (all three Journeys): $500; Individual Journeys: $175 each.

After November 1: Complete Course paid in full by November 5: $550; Individual Journeys: $195 each.

To register for this Course please click HERE.

Payment plans are available – please email

First Journey

The Crystallized Self – Stages 1-7:
November 7-8, 2020, 9am – 5:30 pm ET each day

Second Journey

The Expressive Self – Stages 8 – 14:
November 21-22, 2020, 9am – 5:30 pm ET each day

Third Journey

The Transcendent Self – Stages 15-21:
December 5-6, 2020, 9am – 5:30 pm ET each day